Treble Zine Exclusive Premiere of “Call It In” By Sean Morales

Sean Morales premiere

Premiere: Sean Morales shares some distorted psych-pop on “Call It In”

By: Jeff Terich
On Friday, January 12, Austin singer/songwriter Sean Morales will release his debut, Call It In, via Super Secret Records. The album features appearances by members of Young Mothers, OBN IIIs, Knife in the Water and was recorded by Stuart Sikes (White Stripes, Loretta Lynn, Cat Power). Today, Treble is premiering the title track from the album, “Call It In,” which is a bit darker and noisier than the upbeat, jangly “Video Life,” which they previously shared. It’s a buzzing, acid-fried track that recalls the likes of Deerhunter, The Flaming Lips and Liars, with some lo-fi garage aesthetics as well. It’s a trip through one super-weird rabbit hole for sure.

Sean Morales Call It In tracklist:

1. Video Life
2. Call It In
3. Bring Me Home
4. Whispertime
5. Problems
6. Slummertime
7. We’ve Been Apart
8. Party 1

Treble Premiere ‘Rewind My Mind’ From Forthcoming Crack Pipes Reissue


Premiere: Crack Pipes’ remastered “Rewind My Mind” is an emotional slice of garage soul

By: Jeff Terich
 On Friday, September 29, Sonic Surgery will reissue Beauty School, the 2005 album by Austin, Texas garage soul band Crack Pipes. The album was originally released on Emperor Jones, and has been fully remastered by its original engineer, Jerry Tubb. The reissue also has new cover art, which you can see below. Today, Treble is premiering the remastered version of “Rewind My Mind,” which you can listen to below. It’s a jangly, soulful and catchy song with a heavy dose of grit and tender emotion, reminiscent of the likes of The Oblivians or The Dirtbombs. It feels contemporary yet vintage all at once.
Listen to the Crack Pipes “Rewind My Mind” stream below.

Crack Pipes Rewind My Mind Premiere

Crack Pipes Beauty School tracklist:

1. Beauty School
2. Sexy Pepsy
3. Reflections in a Bad Light
4. Needy Greedy
5. Rewind My Mind
6. Let My Heart (Rest in Peace)
7. Q&A
8. Make Out Party
9. Guerilla Haircuts
10. East Side Injections
11. I Was So Worried About You
12. Greensboro
13. Beauty School (Reprise)

Pre-order the Crack Pipes Beauty School reissue here.

PLAX “Night Watch” Song Premiere at Treble Magazine

On August 11, Austin-based punks PLAX release their new album Clean Feeling, via Super Secret Records. The group, which played their first show in summer of 2016 in New Orleans, features members of Spray Paint, OBN Ills, Nosferatu, Skeleton and Glasss, and today Treble is premiering a new track from the album, titled “Night Watch.” It’s melodic, abrasive, dark, intense and weird all at once, recalling the likes of post-punk icons like Wire or more contemporary groups like Protomartyr. And it’s all over in just a little longer than two minutes, which means it’ll definitely leave a craving for more. Listen to the PLAX “Night Watch” stream below, and take a look at the album’s tracklist as well.

PLAX Clean Feeling tracklist:

1. Boring Story
2. In A Web
3. Night Watch
4. Not For You
5. Black & White
6. Mistake
7. 1 x 1
8. A Few Years
9. What A Waste
10. Location
11. Mold