Paste Magazine Premiere “I Want To Die Young” From Terminal Mind

Daily Dose: Terminal Mind, “I Want To Die Young”

Daily Dose: Terminal Mind, "I Want To Die Young"

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

Some of the best punk/post-punk/new wave bands are the ones that burned out quickly, loudly and brightly. Often that was for bittersweet or tragic reasons, but a great many of them simply dissipated as the follies of youth evolved into the responsibilities of adulthood. One such group was the Austin, Texas outfit Terminal Mind.

Inspired by the late ‘70s noise of artists like John Cale and Pere Ubu, Terminal Mind released one spiny 7” EP of herky-jerky, politically-minded rackets as well as dropping a couple of bombs on some local compilations during their four short years together. Each one has the insinuating allure of a sermon but delivered with a scabrous intent and raw musicianship. The group also scored a few coups in their time, getting a chance to open for Iggy Pop and play alongside fellow Texan rabble rousers, Big Boys.

While the scattered pieces of Terminal Mind’s discography have been difficult and expensive to pull together, the good people of Sonic Surgery Records have done all the heavy lifting for you. This month, the label will release Recordings, a compilation of everything the group released during its short lifespan and some unheard gems from their archives. This is essential listening for students of American punk history or anyone that just wants to get a little riled up in front of their stereo on a Friday night. To get a clearer sense of what we mean, stream the lead track from this compilations “I Want To Die Young” right here.

“(I Give Up On) Human Rights” From Terminal Mind Premiered At I Heart Noise

Song Premiere: Terminal Mind – (I Give Up On) Human Rights

Terminal Mind Recordings

While their name and their song titles might suggest a po-faced hardcore/punk act, Terminal Mind’s music says otherwise – the songs on I Want to Die Young EP, the Texan act’s sole proof of existence up until now, are catchy, upbeat and proudly wear an influence of funk on their collective sleeve (no pun intended).

The collection coming out on Sonic Surgery label on Jan. 12 (entitled simply “Recordings”) compiles the said EP, live recordings and unreleased studio tracks, many of which reveal band’s punkier leanings. Case in point – “(I Give Up on) Human Rights” – fastest track among the bunch, it trades artsier elements of songs like I Want to Die Young in favor of sheer speed/velocity of the attack.

Recommended to fans of: Television, Gang of Four, Public Image Limited

Further reading: Killed by Death Records | Super Secret Records | 7th Level  Music

Premiere of Wei Zhongle’s “Mute” at Paste Magazine

Daily Dose: Wei Zhongle, “Mute”

Daily Dose: Wei Zhongle, "Mute"

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

Rob Jacobs and John McCowen thrive on restlessness. Their joint project Wei Zhongle has maintained a rotating cast of musicians through the five albums they have released under that name. Their work—guitar/vocals and amplified clarinet, respectively—have been the only constants. That free-flowing, open door policy has meant that, much to the delight of avant rock fans, their music constantly surprises. 2015’s Nu Trance was smashed together motorik rhythms with the swirl of North African melodics where Raised High/Brought Low from 2013 dabbled in jazz textures and an almost country-like rambling.

The latest pleasant shock to the system from this Chicago-based outfit is the new album The Operators, out on January 26th via Self Sabotage Records. This latest full-length finds Jacobs, McCowen and their new bandmates Pat Keen and Phil Sudderberg getting almost accessible. At least as accessible as, say, Fear Of Music’s more challenging moments got. The record is bouncy and bubbly yet cut through with hard angles and sharp points. Give a listen to this slithery beast of a song from the new LP and take care not to let it wrap around your cerebral cortex too tightly.

Sean Morales’ “We’ve Been Apart” Premieres on Austin Town Hall


Sean Morales has been working in the Austin music scene for some time, most notably as a member of James Arthur’s Manhunt. We now find Sean stepping out to craft his own debut, which is a stark contrast to JAM. Guitar notes are picked carefully at the start, so close to the mic that you can hear the strings if you put your ear to the speaker. Morales’ voice comes across like a whisper, barely willing to step over the guitar sound; he’s joined by an accompaniment at one point during the chorus. Then the song fades out with added textural layers and improvisation, rounding out the perfect vision that Sean’s created with this tune. You can expect the rest of his debut Call It In to follow suit; it’s being released by Super Secret Records this Friday.

Treble Zine Exclusive Premiere of “Call It In” By Sean Morales

Sean Morales premiere

Premiere: Sean Morales shares some distorted psych-pop on “Call It In”

By: Jeff Terich
On Friday, January 12, Austin singer/songwriter Sean Morales will release his debut, Call It In, via Super Secret Records. The album features appearances by members of Young Mothers, OBN IIIs, Knife in the Water and was recorded by Stuart Sikes (White Stripes, Loretta Lynn, Cat Power). Today, Treble is premiering the title track from the album, “Call It In,” which is a bit darker and noisier than the upbeat, jangly “Video Life,” which they previously shared. It’s a buzzing, acid-fried track that recalls the likes of Deerhunter, The Flaming Lips and Liars, with some lo-fi garage aesthetics as well. It’s a trip through one super-weird rabbit hole for sure.

Sean Morales Call It In tracklist:

1. Video Life
2. Call It In
3. Bring Me Home
4. Whispertime
5. Problems
6. Slummertime
7. We’ve Been Apart
8. Party 1

Austin Chronicle Exclusive Premiere of “Refugee” From Terminal Mind

Lost & Found: Terminal Mind

Thirty-seven years after breakup, debut LP hits

The anthem on Terminal Mind’s sole release, a self-issued 7-inch stamped with the universal “no” symbol that routinely fetches over $100 on eBay, spun a nihilistic punk declaration: “I Wanna Die Young.”

Vintage Terminal Mind (Photo by Ken Hoge)

Instead, the short-lived Austin band (1978-1981) has aged to a vintage in which there’s now demand for a long overdue retrospective. Friday, homegrown reissue specialists Sonic Surgery Records unveil the bluntly-titled Recordings, a remastered collection of the band’s four-song EP, quality live cuts, and previously unheard demos.

Grayscale art-rock with punk desperation channeled through instrumental and songwriting legitimacy, the triad of bassist/vocalist Steve Marsh with twins Doug Murray and Greg Murray on guitar and drums, respectively (they later added synth player Jack Crow), remains an act locals still celebrate despite a short lifespan and being under-recorded. Historically, Terminal Mind’s music hasn’t been easy to come by – save for those who’ve nabbed copies of the rare EP or Live at Raul’s compilation – so Recordings is a worthy dive into a crucial and obscure sliver of the cap city catalog.

The melodic “Refugee,” from the original EP, demonstrates Marsh’s penchant for meaningful rock songwriting. The chorus spells it out:

Refugee, that’s the way the real world treats you.
Did you think such a person could exist?
In a war, there are winners and there are losers.
I’m in between.

Before Recordings drops Friday, give “Refugee” a spin here.”